Pr0n Plus: Spring Basics Edition

La Canadienne Stella, $225.68

La Canadienne Stella, $225.68 at Zappos

Happy Spring, Northern Hemisphere!  I’m afraid this blog is a bit Northern-Hemisphere-centric.  I’m a day late with this week’s Pr0n Plus, but I think it’s a good one.  In today’s Shopping Pr0n, we’re going to look at spring wardrobe basics. 

I’ll be showing plus size styles, but these are items which should and can go in anyone’s closet: a spring coat, a cotton shirt, pants, sweater, a day dress, and some cute comfy shoes.

.

The first thing everyone needs for spring is a raincoat.  You can sing “Rain rain go away” to your heart’s content, but it doesn’t seem to do much good. 

Standing Collar Trench, $54.99 at Target

Standing Collar Trench, $54.99 at Target

Pears/Hourglasses and apples have different needs for coats.  (How do you know if you’re a pear or an apple?  Do you have a defined waist?  No?  You’re an apple. 

Do you have Bette Davis eyes thighs?  You’re a pear.) When buying coats, a pear actually doesn’t necessarily want to define a waist. 

Look at this classic belted trenchcoat from Target.  Yes, Target.  For a pear or hourglass is that once you cinch the belt, it over-emphasizes what’s happening down below, and you look lumpy and heavier than you are.  

For an apple, this helps define what you don’t have much of.  Since there’s less inch difference beween chest, waist and butt, the belt will emphasize, not over-emphasize.

.
.
Pears (for the rest of this post, just extend pear advice to hourglasses), try something like this fun “Rainy Day Mac” from Boden. 

Rainy Day Mac, $138 at Boden

Rainy Day Mac, $138 at Boden

Don’t worry about your waist – it’s not going anywhere.  The key is to deemphasize the “booty area” (it’s a technical term).

.
 By wearing something that doesn’t chop you off in the middle, you look sleek and svelte.  Boden goes up to a UK size 20 (US 18ish), and they have this style in a few other patterns. 

.
What I love about Boden’s website is that they show you how much stock they have left for each color and size.
.
..
.
Working from the outside in, you’re going to want a day dress: something you can dress up for work, and dress down on the weekend.  I love this tie-back dress from Donna Ricco. 
.
Donna Ricco Tie Back Dress, $168

Donna Ricco Tie Back Dress, $168

Big prints are great for plus-sizes; it’s a matter of proportion.  Also, this type of tie-back, or similar wrap-dress is going to flatter lots of body types. 

.
Not everyone has a small waist, but the smallest part of every woman’s body is almost always under her bust.  Add an adjustable top to an empire waist and it’s genius. 
.
Remember that you can always put a cami on underneath if there’s too much boobage (also a technical term).
..
..

Every woman must must must (must) have in her closet a simple button down shirt, a pair of casual pants, and a colorful cardigan.

Gap Dobby Striped Roll-Up Shirt, $48

Gap Dobby Striped Roll-Up Shirt, $48

These three pieces can be mixed and matched with nearly everything else in your closet, will never go out of fashion, and can be bought nearly anywhere to suit your individual style.

Simply Be Combat Pants, 32p

Simply Be Combat Pants, 32p

I’ve chosen a white cotton roll-up shirt from the Gap, a pair of pants from Simply Be, and a cardigan from Pink Marzipan. 

The Gap has practically made its name on basics like this; their XXL is a size 18 or 20.  J. Crew goes up to a 16 on many products, as does Banana Republic. 

PAS Knitted Cardigan In China Blue- Poro, 64p

PAS Knitted Cardigan In China Blue- Poro, 64p

For a lower price point, try Macy’s or Target or H&M.  Oh!  This summer (I think), Forever21 is coming out with a plus size line.  Yay!  Hopefully it will be the same kind of “knock-off trendy” as the original.

One point about this style of cardigan/sweater: it has the potential to be very cute on both apples and pears, but pears have to be careful.

If it doesn’t look right, it’ll wind up making you look pregnant.  If it does look right, it’ll look cute and flowy.  I’m a pear and I bought similar a few weeks ago, but the style rarely works on me.

.
It is my sincere belief that every woman should own at least one pair of red shoes.  These Vaneli flats are very similar to a pair of Eccos I splurged on and have never regretted. 

Vaneli Indo Flat, $54.97 at Endless

Vaneli Indo Flat, $54.97 at Endless

They’ve got a slight heel (much better for you than plain flats), and cushy, flexible rubber soles.  You’ll get compliments on them nearly every time you wear them.  Dinsquared guaranteed.

These puppies are on clearance for $54 and change at Endless. com, and they’re still available in lots  of narrow and wide sizes up to a 10. 

You need a pair of shoes that aren’t sneakers that are still comfortable to walk around in: to a friend’s house, to lunch, to the mall.  I can wear my Eccos for hours.; these Vaneli’s look pretty comfy, too.

Jimmy Choo "Clue" at Nordstrom

Jimmy Choo "Clue" at Nordstrom

By the way, did you know that Jimmy Choo’s go up to a size 11.5/12?  I certainly didn’t. 
.
Jimmy Choo’s really don’t have anything specific to do with spring, but they’re fabulous and come in a large size, so I’m showing them to you.  Aren’t they fabulous?
..

That’s all the time we have together today my little pr0n popcorn.  I have more post ideas than I have time to do them all. 

.

I hope to bring you a post on women’s suits, a series dressing for your body type, a series on how to make a wardrobe out of your closet, a post on coats…oy!  Please stay with me, won’t you?
.
Until next time, it was good for me; tell me, was it good for you?

8 responses to “Pr0n Plus: Spring Basics Edition

  1. LOL @ “bette davis thighs”…classic!! :)

    I love the red shoes (and boy, is it hard to find shoes, let alone COLORFUL shoes in wide sizes ) Much appreciated!! :)

  2. great suggestions!!
    i’m still searching for the perfect rain coat
    no target near me…. :-/

  3. I absolutely appreciate that you use plus-size models when you can – this makes a huge difference in visualizing how something will look in reality vs. in fantasy!

    The only small thing I’d quibble with, which I mentioned to you previously, is the “sleek and svelte” thing…while I know most American women are still after the goal of looking thinner, for those of us who are in the VERY plus-size category (I’m a 30/32), nothing in this world is going to make me look like my sleek, svelte size 6 sister. Or, for that matter, like a 10/12 or even a 16/18. I love that you are so positive about plus-sized women and I think that part of that is encouraging women to love their bodies and enjoy fashion *at any size* and not just because something makes them look smaller, or sleeker, or masks their butts better, so to speak. I think your advice about pear vs. apple shaping is fantastic, though, and it would be fab if eventually it were feasible for you to show pictures of women of all sizes and shapes (preferably with heads attached ;) ) dressed in cuts that are and aren’t suitable for them, to illustrate what has a balanced vs. imbalanced effect. Not a *slenderizing* one, perse, but a very real “this makes your boobs disproportionally large – if that’s what you want, fine, but this is the reality” sort of thing.

    You’ve already made a great start on being size-positive and I am SO happy to see plus-sizes included in a *mainstream* fashion blog and not just relegated to the places where we fats congregate ;)

    • *tacklehugs you*

      Thank you! I love constructive criticism! I’ve been wondering for a while if I should do a do’s vs don’t’s kind of a thing. I think I’ll do at least one and see what the reaction is. I really appreciate hearing that.

      I see what you’re saying about giving body specific suggestions vs. “dis mak u thinnr”, and I think that’s another great point. I’ll try to be more specific when I talk about articles of clothing. That’s important for people who are looking to *ahem* gloss over one part of their body or another.

      I just want to make the world a more fashionable place – no matter who’s in it. :D

      But seriously, my mantra is that I’ve been a size 16 and I’ve been a size 6 and I’ve been every size in between, and at every size, I just wanted to feel good. Anything that I can do to help every woman and man look and feel better makes me feel better. That’s what fashion is – it’s just about feeling your best.

      Thank you so much for being here and contributing. If there’s anything else you notice that can make this blog better, don’t hesitate to let me know!

  4. Pingback: Pr0n Product Review: Hue Low Cut Liners « Shopping Pr0n

  5. Pingback: Exclusive! 20% off Plus Size Fashion & Lingerie « Shopping Pr0n

Leave a Reply

