Outfit of the Day Pr0n: Sunday Brunch

Happy Friday, pr0n friends.  If you’re not reading this on Friday, I’m sorry.  I’m starting a new (somewhat) daily column I’m calling Outfit of the Day Pr0n!  Exciting name, no?  Each day or thereabouts I’ll show you how to put together an outfit for a particular style, occasion or body type.

Rebecca Beeson Bright Red Empire Waist Tunic at Bluefly

Rebecca Beeson Bright Red Empire Waist Tunic at Bluefly

I wanted to start with a style that’s easy to do, easy to work off of, and both men and women can wear.  So rather than reinvent the wheel, I pulled this tomato red cotton v-neck tunic from Rebecca Beeson that I used for spring colors in Color Pr0n.

This outfit is “nice casual”.  For me, it’s something to wear out to a Sunday Brunch, or a cool summer evening party on a patio.  Wear it someplace you want to look nice…but not too nice?

Sunday Brunch

I’ve taken the tunic and almost made a casual suit out of it.  I chose a pair houndstooth cuffed capris by Guess?, but you could also put them over a pair of long chino shorts, like these at J. Crew that go up to a size 16.  Over the top and pants I put a one button black suit jacket from Banana Republic’s Monogram Collection.  I’m normally hesitant to recommend one-button jackets, because they’re a harder style to pull off, but this is a nice fit as long as you’re not very busty.  This particular blazer has had a slightly relaxed, slouchy feel that I wanted so it would line up over the tunic and make it dressier, but still keep the whole thing somewhat casual.  You don’t want a really slim fitting or structured jacket here, unless you’ve got an equally structured top.

Next I chose Cocobelle Paloma flat sandals from Endless.com, which have some style and structure (No flip flops! Ever!).  You can see that I’m walking that line between casual and structured in each piece, and that’s kind of the trick.  Pick your occasion, decide how dressy or casual you need to be and go from there.  Exchange the sandals for a pair of flats, the capris for a pair of dark trouser jeans, or the suit jacket for a casual blazer and the outfit will have an entirely different style and feel.  What’s great is that these are mostly types of items you’d have in your closet anyway; you’re just using them in a new way.  Aren’t you clever!

.

It’s hard to find really nice, unique men’s clothes.  I’ve been trolling some new blog friends so I hope to bring you more soon. Today’s outfit though, is one that men can totally wear, too.  Not androgynous, just adaptable. :)

A Men's Casual Primer

I’m so ridiculously pleased with how this turned out.  I took the women’s suit idea and used a men’s “geek chic” style.  Take a look at the jacket and shorts; they’re both patterns; the shorts are a tiny navy stripe from old faithful Banana Republic.  Since the shorts are a small stripe, and the blazer from Ben Sherman is a large check, you can mix the patterns.  When mixing patterns, keep use one large and one small, and stick to similar colors.

From there the rest was simple; I loved the pop of bright used in the Ben Sherman picture, so I found a cotton poplin button down shirt in Olive Butter from Old Navy.  The subject of a man-sandal, ie. a “mandal” is still controversial in the fashion world.  Unlike women, most men don’t go out of their way to get pedicures, making the idea of showing off their feet…unappealing.  Instead, try a nice slip on driving moccasin, like Calvin Klein’s Timmy from Piperlime.  Then throw on a messenger bag,  like the Jack Spade I showed you in Handbag/Manbag Pr0n.  Personally I’m pro-man jewelry, but since not everyone is, every man should have at least one really nice watch.  What I like about Nixon’s (the company, not the dead president) “24-20” chrono watch, is the contrast between the black and the bright silver, and the large face.  It’s available at Barney’s Co-op.

Just like the women’s outfit, mix it up: change the color of the shirt or use a nice colorful t-shirt; put it with jeans and a suit jacket and it’s appropriate for dinner out.  Once you’ve mastered the art of mixing and matching this kind of an outfit, call your blogger. She’s single!

..

There you go! Your very first outfits of the day, for Friday March 6, 2009.

Until next time, it was good for me; tell me, was it good for you?

.

Social Bookmarks:
4 responses to “Outfit of the Day Pr0n: Sunday Brunch

  1. Pingback: Outfit of the Day Pr0n: Sunday Brunch « Shopping Pr0n | women-web-guide

  2. Pingback: Sample Sale Pr0n: Navigating Sample Sales « Shopping Pr0n

  3. Pingback: Related Pr0n: I Won on Polyvore! « Shopping Pr0n

  4. Pingback: Dating Fashion: Menswear in the New Millenium « Shopping Pr0n

Leave a Reply

