White House Portrait Pr0n

Greetings my little pr0n pudding cups!  It’s an exciting day here in Washington, DC for we are preparing for a SNOWPOCALYPSE.  We may get 5 or more inches of snow – unheard of!  Your dear blogger is very excited if you can’t tell.  In other Nation’s Capitol news, the official White House Portrait of First Lady Michelle Obama has been unveiled.  Let’s have a look.

Michelle Obama Official White House Portrait

Michelle Obama Official White House Portrait

All due respect, that is one smokin’ First Lady.  I mean, she’s like the anti-Barbara Bush (just sayin’!).  Okay, time to put on our fashionista caps and give it a critical eye.  Good hair?  Check.  Natural smile?  Check.  Now this is interesting, she’s wearing a sleeveless dress,  but instead of the arm seams going straight up and down, they curve like a capital C and backwards capital C. It’s an interesting detail, and a flattering one.  Any other experienced fashionistas out there know about this style?

Apparently the dress was designed by American designer Michael Kors, so maybe we’ll get details later.  I’d guess it’s a black wool of some sort.  I’m seeing a drop waist seam below her hips, are you?  Of course we can’t see the length of the dress, but we’ll give her the benefit of the doubt and assume it ends at the knee.

This is an A+ portrait, and had it been a photograph, it would have been a Home Run, too.  Her week in fashion overall has been more uneven.

.

First Lady Michelle Obama in Narcisso Rodriguez

First Lady Michelle Obama in Narcisso Rodriguez

Here she is at the President’s Congressional Address in plum Narcisso Rodriguez.  She apparently caused quite a kerfuffle by showing up to this event sleeveless.

What can I say, DC is a little stuffy fashion wise.  Does that matter to you, my pr0n pineapples?  What say you, is sleeveless in this situation inappropriate or modern?

There’s a lot to like about this outfit.  The color is perfect, and I love the contrast in textures.  But, is it me or is this fitting her poorly?

I’m seeing that the blouse part seems to be er…blousing strangely, and the skirt looks too big.  Not that I expect what she wears to be skin tight, but you’d think the White House has tailors, no?


Michelle Obama in Kai Milla Emerald Trapeze Dress

Michelle Obama in Kai Milla Emerald Trapeze Dress

On the other hand I love the emerald trapeze dress designed by Stevie Wonder’s wife, Kai Milla.  She wore this to the dinner and Stevie Wonder concert at the White House.

I know I said in White House Pr0n that I don’t like true jewel tones on the First Lady, but every rule has an exception, right?

Pr0ners, this is how you do a “young” style, and not look ridiculous.  It’s all too easy when wearing a trapeze or baby doll style to look like you’ve just stepped out of kindergarten, or are a shapeless lump.  Here though, Mrs. Obama looks fresh and young without being age inappropriate.

The dress is accentuated with a wide black ribbon at the empire waistline, which breaks up the dress nicely, and breaks up her torso nicely.  Her jewelry is lusciously simple: a diamond cuff bracelet, and earrings.

I’ll give it an A.  It’s not my most favorite style on her, but it works and it’s charming.  I can’t complain.

.
I have several complaints about this Jason Wu dress, and with the exception of her Inaugural Ballgown, this seems to be a theme with me and him.  Next time on Shopping Pr0n: Grudgematch, Dinsquared vs. Jason Wu! :D

Michelle Obama in Jason Wu

Michelle Obama in Jason Wu

I don’t hate all of this dress; in fact, I love the style.  I like the neckline, I like the bodice pleating detail, and I don’t even mind that it’s below the knee; I think it works here.

My problem is with the color and pattern.  Bright purple with dark purple polka dots?  Really, Jason Wu?  Jason Wu, really?

Is this flattering to you, peanuts?  I don’t think the color does anything for her skin; it’s too bright and the dots are just distracting.

Grudgingly, I’m giving this outfit a B+.  I really do like the style and the concept.  As I like to say: right style, wrong execution.


Here she is on the cover of this week’s People Magazine with a new hairdo. Cute!  Sadly, Dinsquared does not approve of the dress she’s chosen.

First Lady Michelle Obama in Tracy Reese

First Lady Michelle Obama in Tracy Reese

Remember how I said I liked the Kai Milla dress because it had that big black band to break it up?  That’s the first reason I don’t like this dress.

When she wears an empire waist with nothing else to break up the outfit, she looks disproportionately long (I’ve said this before.  Nobody listens to me.)

Look at the Jason Wu – it’s probably a natural waist, which breaks her up into equal sections.  The Narcisso Rodriguez is a high waist, but not as high as this, and it has the difference in textures to break up the line, and the black Michael Kors has a barely perceivable drop waist, which again breaks her into equal sections.

The second problem I have with this dress is the color.  No more wire hangers bright colors!  This is bright pink.  This should be a dull rose.

Third, and throw things if you must, I just don’t like the dress.  I usually love Tracy Reese, but this does nothing for me.  Final Grade: B.

.
I’m pleased to tell you all that I’ve saved the best for last.  I hope you’re sitting down for this (Of course you’re sitting down. Who stands up at a computer?) because she’s wearing sleeves.

First Lady Michelle Obama at the Transportation Dept

First Lady Michelle Obama at the Transportation Dep't

I kid!  I kid!  She’s got great arms; if she can stay warm going sleeveless in DC in February, more power to her.

Sadly, I have no designer information here.  I can only say that she is wearing a grey and black houndstooth suit with a black mock turtleneck, and a large pearl brooch.  I’m lovin’ it!

Never fear, for according to my sources her hair is merely pinned back, not cut.  What’s really interesting to me is how little makeup she’s wearing.  It’s not that she ever wears lots of makeup, but she’s wearing remarkably little here.  Thumbs up for a natural, professional look.

I don’t have any full length photos, but there’s nothing that would lead me to believe there’s a thing wrong with this outfit, except maybe her usual dumpy shoes (I said don’t throw things!)

Keeping that in mind, I’m going to knock off a few points and give this a Final Grade of A, rather than A+.

All photos here are courtesy of The Huffington Post, except for the People magazine cover, which is courtesy of People Magazine.  Thanks!


I hope you enjoyed this second, no – third! post on Michelle Obama.  My first was Inaugural Pr0n.  I enjoy bringing you these posts because the First Lady has so much spectacular fashion pr0n potential.  Don’t you think?

Do subscribe if you like what you see (It’s the Orange striped thingy in the sidebar or the Google Button).  There’s lots more coming up!  I’m working on the first in a series on how to dress for your body type, and of course Mondays are always Pr0n Plus for the very best in Plus Size Fashion!

.
Until next time.  It was good for me; tell me, was it good for you?
.

Social Bookmarks:
17 responses to “White House Portrait Pr0n

  1. I really like this post! This is so far from my area of expertise that I can’t really offer the sort of criticisms (positive or negative) that you provide, but I loooove reading your take on fashion.

  2. Pingback: Posts about Huffington Post as of February 28, 2009 » The Daily Parr

  3. Pingback: Posts about Celebrity as of March 1, 2009

  4. I love how she looks in the official portrait…beautiful! The only problem I have with that photo is the annoying flower sticking out in front of her left hand. I also think she looks amazing in the Jason Wu dress (even with the purple polka dots) and the houndstooth suit.

  5. Oh dang I love that emerald dress. *grabby hands*

  6. Wow, what an inspiration… Hot mama, First Lady, smokin’ WOman.

    Also, enjoy the winter storm (on the first of March, no less)!!

    -betsy

  7. I didn’t notice how oddly fitting the top of her State of the Union dress was until you pointed it out! Looked much better when she sat down.

    Doesn’t the People magazine dress look like…lingerie? :/ Maybe I just don’t like all that lace. :x

    And the hair pinned back does look “matronly” — too bad, the rest of the outfit is pretty.

    These are so much fun — thanks for posting them!!!

    • I don’t know if I think the Tracy Reese dress looks like lingerie, but I think it looks juvenile somehow. I think I’ll throw a Michelle Obama column into the mix weekly or bi-weekly. :D

  8. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Elaina

  9. Pingback: Outfits of the Day Pr0n: Michelle Obama & You « Shopping Pr0n

  10. I bookmarked your blog, thanks for sharing this very interesting post

Leave a Reply

